We represent Indian TV Editors
Press Release

3-member fact-finding committee to look into Jindal-Zee News row

Press Statement : 3-Member fact-finding committee to look into Jindal-Zee News row

New Delhi, 10.10.2012 

The Broadcast Editors’ Association (BEA) has viewed with concern the reports in a section of the media with regard to the filing of a First Information Report (FIR) by an industrialist-cum-politician Mr. Naveen Jindal against the Editor and other functionaries of Zee News.  As per the news reports, the allegations levelled in the FIR are of serious nature. To discuss the issue the BEA called an emergency meeting of the executive committee on Wednesday.

Since the BEA is an apex body of the news channel editors which seeks to ensure high ethical practices in the electronic media, it was imperative to take suo motto cognizance of the news reports.

While the BEA is aware of instances of frivolous and trumped-up allegations against channels and their functionaries, it cannot be oblivious of the fact that the conduct of those holding high positions in the media organizations should be above board.

The BEA Executive Committee decided to set up a three- member fact-finding committee to delve into the aspects of allegations pertaining to ethical lapses, if any. The fact-finding committee comprising  Mr. N. K. Singh (BEA General Secretary), Mr. Rahul Kanwal (Managing Editor of the Headlines Today) and Mr. Dibang (Member of BEA and veteran journalist) will look into the circumstances that led to filing of this FIR and also into the fact whether or not any established norms were ignored in this episode. The three-member committee will submit its report in two weeks.

The committee also asked the editor of the channel in question to explain his position in the matter.

Those who attended the meeting included Mr. Shazi Zaman (President), Mr. Arnab Goswami (Times Now), Mr. Ashutosh (IBN-7), Mr. Vinod Kapri (India TV), Mr. Sudhir Chaudhary (Zee News), Mr. Supriya Prasad (Aaj Tak), Mr. Satish K Singh (Live India), Mr. Rahul Kanwal (Headlines Today), Mr. Ajit Anjum (News 24), Mr. Pranjal and  Mr. Dibang (Members) and Mr. N. K. Singh (General Secretary).  

10.10.2012. 08:45

Mauricio on 18.12.2013. 11:34

Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog thus i came to
“return the favor”.I'm attempting to find things to
improve my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!\

Senaida on 01.02.2014. 08:14

Helpful info. Fortunate me I found your site accidentally, and
I'm surprised why this accident did not took place earlier!
I bookmarked it.

porter ポーター フォース force on 03.10.2014. 01:00

Hi there, I log on to your new stuff like every week.
Your writing style is witty, keep doing what you're doing!

achat viagra on 13.02.2016. 17:55

viagra pas cher generique viagra
viagra generique viagra 50 mg orodispersible
venta viagra comprar viagra generico
viagra viagra acquisto

Write a comment




9 + 3 =

Copyright © 2011 Broadcast Editor's Association
website designed & maintained by Graphicore
this site is best viewed on 800X600