We represent Indian TV Editors
Press Release

Government has no plans to regulate TV News content

Press Statement : New Delhi, September 19, 2009

I&B Minister Ambika Soni terms Editors' initiative as a 'Milestone'

Union Minister for Information & Broadcasting Ambika Soni today said that the government had no plans to impose restrictions on the content of television channels. She also said that the UPA government was against any such step. Interacting with the Broadcast Editors' Association (BEA), I&B Minister said that there should be a self regulated boundary line for the media and that any effort to evolve a self-regulated mechanism should be welcomed. However, Soni said that there was a need to strike a balance between the 'Freedom of Press' and 'Sensitivities of Civil Society'.

Appreciating the initiative of the Broadcast Editors' Association (BEA), the Minister termed it as ' Milestone' and said that the concerns of all the stakeholders would be kept in mind in formulating the policy on media industry. Ambika Soni urged the media to look into the interests and concerns of the marginalized section of the society as well.

The Broadcast Editors' Association (BEA) is an initiative by the Editors of television news channels. It has been formed by the Editors to improve the content and to raise the bar of journalism. BEA president Shazi Zaman assured all the stakeholders that the association would fulfill its social responsibility and be responsive to the aspirations of the people. However, he said, the forum will also raise its voice against any attempt to curb freedom of the press.

Association General Secretary N K Singh emphasized the BEA plans to evolve a two way feedback mechanism so as so to make broadcast media a tool for social uplift. Rajdeep Sardesai lauded the efforts of the BEA terming it an approach in the right direction whereas Pankaj Pachauri underlined the need for improving the norms for news broadcast media in view of people’s growing expectations.

The BEA came into existence on August 22, 2009 with a view to maintain and improve the news content and guard the freedom of media. It also plans to interact with various stakeholders.

The broadcast editors who participated in the interaction are: Rajdeep Sardesai ( President Editors’ Guild of India), Pankaj Pachauri (NDTV), N K Singh (ETV) , Sudhir Chaudhary (Live India), Ashutosh and Prabal Pratap (IBN-7), Ajit Anjum and Supriya Prasad (News-24), Satish K Singh (Zee News),  Vinay Tewari (CNN IBN),  Deepak Chaurasia, Milind Khandekar and Vijay Vidrohi(Star News), Vinod Kapri and Prashant Tandon (India TV), Raju Santhanam (Veteran TV editor) and  Pranjal Sharma (UTV). BEA president Shazi Zaman (Star News) conducted the proceedings.

Shazi Zaman, President

N K Singh, General Secretary

01.01.2012. 06:35

This article hasn't been commented yet.

Write a comment




7 + 4 =

Copyright © 2011 Broadcast Editor's Association
website designed & maintained by Graphicore
this site is best viewed on 800X600